Denholm Village

Home Denholm News Contact Us About Us




Following the recent election 2 vacancies remain on the D&DCC. Anyone who would like to contribute to our work as Co-opted members of the CC should contact either Chair Gwen Crew, or Secretary Will Roberts.


The D&DCC meets monthly in Denholm Village Hall.  Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month (except August), starting at 7.00 pm.  Members of the public are most welcome to attend; questions from the floor are normally addressed at the end of the meeting.


Within its constitution, the purpose and functions of the Community Council are stated to be to:

(a)    Ascertain, co-ordinate and express to the Scottish Borders Council  and to other public authorities the views of the community it represents in relations to matters for which those authorities are responsible;

(b)   Make known within the community such information as may be received from SBC and other public authorities; and

(c)    Take such action in the interests of the community as appears to it to be expedient and practicable.

The Council shall be non-party in politics, and non-discriminatory and shall represent all persons in its area.


Community Councillors are elected every four years.  Current Council members:

Chair:                  Gwen Crew
Secretary:          Will Roberts
:          Shirley Passmore

Councillors:      Councillors:Simon Clew, Christine Nichol, Sue Robinson, Gill Rennie and Jane Simmons.

Meetings are usually supported by SBC Councillors for the Denholm ward, currently Cllrs Stuart Marshall, Clair Ramage and Neil Richards, and also by our local Community Constable, PC Allan Patterson of Police Scotland.


The agenda for a forthcoming meeting is normally distributed one week prior to the meeting, and the minutes a week after the meeting.  These papers will be posted on this D&DCC Information web-page, and are also posted on the noticeboard adjacent to the bus shelter on Denholm Green. You can also access them from the menu list on the left of this  page.


Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved.